Season's Greetings

The Round

When families get together to celebrate a special occasion, there’s a danger that all hell will break loose.

Credits:

Written and Directed by Alan Ayckbourn
Designer: Kevin Jenkins
Lighting Designer: Jason Taylor
Casting Director: Sarah Hughes

Price: From £10

Sponsored by:

Season's Greetings Image
25 July - 28 September 2019
BUY NOW

When families get together to celebrate a special occasion, there’s a danger that all hell will break loose. Particularly if you happen to be trapped for several days with all your relatives and copious amounts of alcohol...

Neville and Belinda are hosting their extended family over a long weekend. The presence of two tyrannical uncles – Bernard, whose ham-fisted annual puppet shows are a source of dread to young and old alike, and TV addict Harvey – promises to stir up trouble from the start. And that’s before you add to the mix broken toys, creaking marriages and guest novelist Clive, whose relationship with Belinda’s sister Rachel is going nowhere, causing him to look for love elsewhere.

Directed by the author, this is the first time that the Stephen Joseph Theatre has staged Season’s Greetings since its premiere here in 1980. Don’t miss this rare opportunity to see a sparkling new production of a classic Ayckbourn comedy.

Dementia Friendly/Captioned Performance - Thursday 22 August, 1.30pm
Captioned Performance - Thursday 22 August, 7.30pm
BSL Performance - Saturday 21 September, 2.30pm


What the critics said about the National Theatre’s 2010
production of Season’s Greetings:

‘One of his finest works’
The Daily Telegraph

‘Mordantly hilarious… a classic of drunken disasters and misrouted passions’
The Independent

dates

Thursday 25 July 2019, 7.30pm

Friday 26 July 2019, 7.30pm

Saturday 27 July 2019, 1.30pm

Saturday 27 July 2019, 7.30pm

Wednesday 31 July 2019, 7.30pm

Thursday 1 August 2019, 1.30pm

Thursday 1 August 2019, 7.30pm

Monday 5 August 2019, 7.30pm

Tuesday 6 August 2019, 7.30pm

Wednesday 7 August 2019, 7.30pm

Thursday 8 August 2019, 2.30pm

Thursday 8 August 2019, 7.30pm

Friday 9 August 2019, 7.30pm

Saturday 10 August 2019, 2.30pm

Saturday 10 August 2019, 7.30pm

Monday 12 August 2019, 7.30pm

Tuesday 13 August 2019, 7.30pm

Wednesday 14 August 2019, 7.30pm

Thursday 15 August 2019, 1.30pm

Thursday 15 August 2019, 7.30pm

Friday 16 August 2019, 7.30pm

Saturday 17 August 2019, 2.30pm

Monday 19 August 2019, 7.30pm

Tuesday 20 August 2019, 7.30pm

Wednesday 21 August 2019, 7.30pm

Thursday 22 August 2019, 1.30pm

Thursday 22 August 2019, 7.30pm

Friday 23 August 2019, 7.30pm

Saturday 24 August 2019, 2.30pm

Saturday 24 August 2019, 7.30pm

Monday 26 August 2019, 7.30pm

Tuesday 27 August 2019, 7.30pm

Wednesday 28 August 2019, 7.30pm

Thursday 29 August 2019, 1.30pm

Thursday 29 August 2019, 7.30pm

Wednesday 11 September 2019, 7.30pm

Thursday 12 September 2019, 1.30pm

Saturday 14 September 2019, 7.30pm

Thursday 19 September 2019, 7.30pm

Friday 20 September 2019, 7.30pm

Saturday 21 September 2019, 2.30pm

Wednesday 25 September 2019, 7.30pm

Thursday 26 September 2019, 1.30pm

Saturday 28 September 2019, 7.30pm

What else is on in Theatre?

20 June - 3 August 2019

production

The ultimate feel-good comedy, with live music and tap dancing!

READ MORE

27 July - 24 August 2019

production

Lottie adores stories... imagine her surprise when one morning she wakes up to find herself lost in Bookland!

READ MORE

10 August

production

The end result of two week's hard work from our 2019 Summer School participants.

READ MORE

3 September

production

After refusing to register his child’s birth, Strawman embarks on a personal and legal battle in order to keep his child.

READ MORE

4 September - 5 October 2019

production

As ingenious in its construction as any of his previous plays, Birthdays Past, Birthdays Present is Ayckbourn's 83rd play!

READ MORE

10 September

production

This is a play based on experiences of being a transracial adoptee from Hong Kong and growing up in a very white world.

READ MORE

13 September - 14 September 2019

production

An explosive and passionate portrait of a young heroine of our times.

READ MORE

17 September

production

This fast-paced, electric script is from award-winning playwright Ben Snyder, who is currently writing for Netflix.

READ MORE

24 September

production

Feminist academic Laura returns to work following the death of her father.

READ MORE

29 September

production

To mark his 80th birthday, enjoy a look back on some of the 20 or so family and children’s plays written by Alan Ayckbourn.

READ MORE

3 October - 19 October 2019

production

Thrilling, chilling and witty, examining afresh the eternal question of whether we ever really change how we’re made.

READ MORE

14 October - 19 October 2019

production

A laugh out loud comedy about trying to find a moment of calm in these challenging times.

READ MORE

5 December - 29 December 2019

production

There’ll be songs, swords, talking vegetables, the Boyes’ Santa and a giant mechanical crab... called Susan.

READ MORE

11 December - 22 December 2019

production

SJT Outreach presents a special Christmas Tiny Time Tale

READ MORE
social spotlight

Theatre and entertainment is all about socialising and sharing those special and memorable moments. Get involved across social platforms.

funded by
Arts Council England
Whitby-Scarborough-Filey Borough of Scarborough
Discover Yorkshire Coast